Resources

The list compiled is  to benefit actors.  They are resources that I have come across that I would recommend to any actor looking for guidance. Aside from The Broadway Warm-Up, I have no business affiliation with these suggestions and don’t stand to profit from making a recommendation .  They have simply proven themselves to be note worthy  and consistent over time and I’m passing that information along:

ACTING:

Rob McCaskill www.mccaskillstudio.com

I send anyone I can to Rob.  He has a way of working with actors that gets right to the heart of where they want to be working from. Whether it’s for theatre, film or TV Rob is a fantastic coach and teacher for actors working at every level. 

ACCOMPANIMENT (ONLINE):

Mat Eisenstein: www.mateisenstein.com

My Rehearsal Pianist: www.myrehearsalpianist.com

APPS & WEBSITES: Some Apps & Websites I’ve discovered that can be particularly useful to performers:

Actors Access: www.actorsaccess.com

Audition Update: www.auditionupdate.com

ForScore: www.forscore.co

TDF: www.tdf.org

TinyPiano: www.tinypiano.com

TodayTix: www.todaytix.com

Rehearsal 2: www.rehearsaltheapp.com

CAREER: 

Dallas Travers- Career Coach: www.dallastravers.com

Dawn Trautman- Career Coach: www.dawntrautman.com

Neato Organizing: www.neato-organizing.com

The Savvy Actor- Career Coach: http://www.thesavvyactor.com

CLASSES/ WORKSHOPS: 

The Broadway Warm-Up: www.broadwaywarmup.com

A completely synchronized vocal and dance warmup that can be completed in under 30 minutes that I created with my business partner Deidre Goodwin. The DVD for this ground breaking new warm-up is now available and we are currently teaching classes and workshops to groups and schools. Keep an eye out for open classes starting in Fall of 2014!

Jen Waldman Studio: www.jenwaldmanstudio.com

Nab a spot in one of the hottest studios in town know for helping performers reach their potential and creating a wonderful community of artists.  Whether you’re working with Jen or one of the other teachers at the studio you’ll be in great hands!

The Growing Studio: www.thegrowingstudio.com

One on One: www.oneononenyc.com

Step It Up Classes: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Step-It-Up-Classes/176628805697774?sk=info

VP Boyle:  http://www.vpboyle.com/maxtheatrix.html

COFFEE/COMFORT: Some nice spots for coffee or comfort before or after a lesson or audition in the midtown area.

Empire Coffee: http://www.empirecoffeetea.com

Gotham West Market: http://gothamwestmarket.com

Ivy Nail and Spa: https://plus.google.com/101584728084008779521/about?gl=us&hl=en

Great to unwind or kill some time before or after an audition. 

Little Pie Company: www.littlepiecompany.com

 If you are looking for a special treat in the midtown area – this is not to be missed. 

Nail Stage: https://plus.google.com/106862661509437555906/about?gl=us&hl=en

Schmackary’s Cookies: www.schmackarys.com

Just -yum. * See Note at Little Pie Company

Signature Theatre Lounge: http://www.signaturetheatre.org/Visit/Cafe.aspx

 DANCE STUDIOS: 

Motivated Movers: www.motivatedmovers.com

Perfect for singers who move well or who would like to move well or dancers who want to reconnect to the joy of dance. These ladies have created a positive, safe environment for folks to really get their dance on.

Broadway Dance Center: www.broadwaydancecenter.com

Steps on Broadway: www.stepsnyc.com

FITNESS/HEALTH AND WELLNESS: 

The Actors Fund of America: http://www.actorsfund.org

An incredible resource for actors.  Check it out!

Al Hirshfeld Free Health Clinic: http://www.actorsfund.org/services-and-programs/al-hirschfeld-free-health-clinic

Dr. Anthony Jahn: www.operadoctor.com

Fantastic ENT. Takes Actors Equity Helath Insurance. 

Neurosport Physical Therapy: www.neurosportphysicaltherapy.com

Working with the best in the industry. Takes Actors Equity Insurance. 

SHEET MUSIC/ SCRIPTS:

Drama Book Shop: http://www.dramabookshop.com

www.musicnotes.com

www.newmusicaltheatre.com

Lincoln Center Library: http://www.nypl.org/locations/lpa